Webmasters RoundTable
How does this thing tick? Ask how. Find out how.
Calendar
Mar
April 2009
May
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
Search
Go
My Links
RSS 2.0
Atom 0.3
Archives
July 2010 (4)
February 2010 (1)
January 2010 (2)
December 2009 (2)
November 2009 (1)
April 2009 (1)
February 2009 (2)
July 2008 (1)
June 2008 (1)
May 2008 (5)
March 2008 (2)
December 2007 (1)
November 2007 (5)
October 2007 (1)
September 2007 (4)
August 2007 (1)
July 2007 (1)
June 2007 (5)
April 2007 (2)
March 2007 (1)
February 2007 (5)
January 2007 (3)
December 2006 (1)
September 2006 (1)
August 2006 (2)
July 2006 (1)
June 2006 (2)
April 2006 (1)
February 2006 (1)
January 2006 (2)
December 2005 (1)
November 2005 (4)
June 2005 (1)
May 2005 (9)
News
Did you know you can get your own blog too? Just fill in the feedback from to the Webmaster for details.
Navigation
Home
Feedback
Forums
Photos
GWTA Nebraska
GWTA Region C
Post Categories
Events
(rss)
Forum
(rss)
Gold Rush
(rss)
My Trips
(rss)
NNTS
(rss)
Region C Rally
(rss)
Reviews
(rss)
Web
(rss)
GWTA Related Websites
National
Region "C"
GWTA Nebraska
Is GUCCI Having a big Sale? Be Careful!
This morning I received 3 copies of an e-mail from GUCCI's. The subject line said "
Dear (my e-mail address) December 87% OFF!
" Several images (including this one) were included in the message. At the bottom of the e-mail, in fine print, was some text indicating that I asked for this advertisement but I can undo my decision by clicking on the unsubscribe link.
My first thought was, of course, to let GUCCI know how I felt about them sending me this advertisement (3 times no less). However upon closer examination of the e-mail several factors stuck out. I'm telling you all about this just in case you get something similar in your e-mail box.
First off, the e-mail was received 3 freaking times at various times during the night. You'd think the marketing department was smart enough to index their database table to only send the message out one time.
Secondly, why would they advertise a December sale in April? That seems sort of "fishy" doesn't it?
Lastly (and perhaps the most important factor) is that every link in the e-mail message will take you to an obscure website and not anything close to "GUCCI.COM". This, my friends, is most likely going to be bad news for you if you were to follow any links.
Anytime you get an e-mail with links in it, the best practice is to not click on the link unless the URL matches the text in the e-mail. In this case that wasn't the case. You can always hover over any link and you should see a pop up of some sort that shows you where you will really go. This e-mail was on the clever side as I've never seen one quite like it. Normally these butthead's (and this is a nice word) will tell you that if you don't log into your site that all your accounts will be closed for you.
In conclusion, I'm betting this isn't something GUCCI sent out and following any link in this e-mail will cause you harm. Once more the clowns that sent this e-mail actually put references to GUCCI's website to pull these images. Look out for message like this in the near future as they'll try anything to get to you. Also, treat your e-mail address as if it was your social security number. Don't post it on a website for everyone to see. If necessary, get a second e-mail address that you can send to websites if they say they require one.
posted on Wednesday, April 22, 2009 6:44 AM by
JFrum
Comments